Couldn't find what you looking for?


Introduction to Gluten Sensitivity

Gluten sensitivity is actually a type of auto-immune disease that is called celiac sprue. It is a disease of the intestines. Gluten is a protein that is most commonly found in cereal grains.

Gluten is most commonly found in food such as wheat, rye and barley. Oats can cause problems as well but they can be tolerated in the diet when consumed in very small amounts, however, people that have a very serious case of gluten sensitivity need to cut oats out of their diets entirely.

People who have the disease might also not be able to consume dairy foods as well. When someone has celiac sprue, more often than not, they will develop lactose intolerance as well.

This happens because dairy foods contain lactose sugar, not the proteins that often cause allergies to milk.

There are foods, however that can be eaten which do not contain any gluten at all. Some of these include soybean flour, tapioca flour, rice, corn, buckwheat and potatoes. Gluten-free DietSometimes the celiac sprue can damage the body silently, because in some cases, there are no obvious symptoms of the disease. In these cases, even though there are no obvious symptoms, the condition will cause serious deficiencies of vitamins and nutritional problems. This occurs because the intestines are not capable of absorbing nutrients when a person is consuming gluten-filled foods regularly.

Also, people who have this condition are also more prone to certain type of cancers, especially, of the gastrointestinal tract.

In order to maintain a gluten-free diet, it is very important to read the labels of all the food a person buys before eating it or preparing it.

There are several things that most be avoided. When looking at the labels, it is important to make sure that the food does not contain hydrolyzed vegetable protein, flour or cereal foods, vegetable protein, and malt products. Starches, artificial flavoring, vegetable gum, emulsifiers should also be avoided at all costs.

When a person is not preparing their own food at home and is eating at a restaurant, it is important to avoid all breaded and creamed foods, and all types of meatloaves and gravies as well.

There are healthy and tasty foods that can be eaten, however, by people who are very sensitive to gluten. People with this problem can enjoy broiled roasted meats of all kinds, plain vegetables, plain salads, all types of potatoes, corn, rice, beans, fruits, and breads that are made from different flours such as rice, soy, tapioca, arrowroot and potato.

Your thoughts on this

User avatar Guest